Energy storage

Wind energy and photovoltaics can greatly contribute to the energy supply. The big challenge here, though, is the volatility of these forms of energy. With an increasing share of renewable energies on the grid, therefore, ensuring grid stability is thus a major challenge for electricity distribution. Peak load power stations and pumped-storage power plants come up against their limits. Ideally, large accumulators should be used as network buffering in both directions, thanks to their fast response times. Here we are still facing the challenges of the necessary storage capacities and the economic feasibility of associated storage technologies. The first applications based on Li-ion batteries as well as the first installations using redox flow cell technology are beginning to appear.

The Fraunhofer ISE, for example, has been working on a 1 MWh accumulator based on the redox flow cell since 2010:
www.ise.fraunhofer.de/de/forschungsprojekte/1-mwh-redox-flow-netzspeicher

Japanese operator Sumitomo Electric is the largest (6MWh) commercially operated redox flow cell installation in operation:
global-sei.com/news/press/12/prs069_s.html

The Schwerin-based utility company WEMAG put the largest (5MWh) commercially used battery storage system using Li-ion technology into operation in the autumn of 2014:
www.wemag.com/ueber_die_wemag/presse/pressemeldungen/2014/09_16_Eroeffnung_Batteriespeicher.html

The market thus appears to be reacting; after all, an efficient storage technology is the key for the extensive use of renewable energies in the future. However, both currently used technologies have limitations.

The redox flow cell is limited by its low storage density. The charge carriers are dissolved in an aqueous solution. Once it is saturated it cannot take up any further charge carriers. The most efficient commercially used redox flow cells are currently based on vanadium as an electrolyte, which has an energy density of approximately 25Wh per litre. By way of comparison, the lead acid battery commonly used in cars has an energy density of 42Wh/kg. The electrolyte is also very expensive and highly toxic.

The largest development effort today is without a doubt being invested in Li-battery technology. The Li-polymer battery in particular is currently the largest field of application. With an energy density of 150Wh/kg, it is far more powerful than redox flow cell systems; likewise, the widespread use of this technology has now resulted in a price level of less than € 1000 per kWh.

Even with this technology, the energy density is nevertheless still far from what we are used to from fossil fuels such as diesel fuel with its 10,000 Wh/l. Li polymer batteries as fossil fuels are far more “powerful”, in the negative sense, when it comes to the risk of fire. Mechanical damage suffices to spark a heat generation in the Li polymer cells that leads to an uncontrollable fire. That is also why Li polymer batteries were banned in aviation.

Aigys’ PowerCell® solves the above-mentioned problems!

Energiespeicher

Windenergie und Photovoltaik können einen grossen Beitrag zur Energieversorgung beitragen. Die grosse Herausforderung dabei ist aber die Volatilität dieser Energieformen. Dies stellt die Stromverteilnetze bei grösser werdenden Anteil von erneuerbaren Energien vor grosse Herausforderungen zur Sicherung der Netzstabilität. Spitzenlastkraftwerke und Pumpspeicherwerke kommen an ihre Grenzen. Idealer Weise sollte man grosse Akkumulatoren als Netzpufferung in beide Richtungen aufgrund ihrer schnellen Reaktionszeiten einsetzten. Hier stehen wir heute noch vor der Herausforderungen der notwendigen Speicherkapazitäten und damit verbundener Wirtschaftlichkeit entsprechender Speichertechnologien. Es gibt erste Anwendungen auf Li-Ionen-Akku Basis, sowie erste Installationen unter Nutzung der Redox-Flowcell Technologie.

So arbeitet das Frauenhofer ISE seit 2010 an einem 1MWh Speicher auf Basis der Redox Flowcell: www.ise.fraunhofer.de/de/forschungsprojekte/1-mwh-redox-flow-netzspeicher

und beim Japanischen Betreiber Sumitomo Electric ist mit 6MWh die grösste kommerziell betriebene Redox Flowcell Installation in Betrieb
global-sei.com/news/press/12/prs069_s.html

Im Herbst 2014 hat der Schweriner Energieversorger WEMAG mit 5MWh den grössten kommerziell genutzten Batteriespeicher mit Li-Ionen Technologie in Betrieb genommen:
www.wemag.com/ueber_die_wemag/presse/pressemeldungen/2014/09_16_Eroeffnung_Batteriespeicher.html

Es tut sich also etwas im Markt, denn eine effiziente Speichertechnologie ist der Schlüssel für die zukünftige umfangreiche Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien. Beide derzeit genutzten Technologien haben aber Einschränkungen.

Bei der Redox Flow Zelle ist dies die geringe Speicherdichte. Die Ladungsträger werden in einer wässrigen Lösung gelöst. Wenn diese gesättigt ist kann sie keine weiteren Ladungsträger mehr aufnehmen. Die leistungsfähigsten kommerziell genutzten Redox Flow Zellen basieren heute auf Vanadium als Elektrolyt welche eine Energiedichte von ca. 25Wh pro Liter aufweisen. Zum Vergleich; der aus dem Auto bekannte Blei Akku hat eine Energiedichte von 42Wh/kg. Dazu ist der Elektrolyt sehr teuer und hoch giftig.

Der grösste Entwicklungsaufwand wird derzeit zweifelsohne in die Li-Akku Technologie gesteckt. Im speziellen findet der Li-Polymer Akku derzeit das grösste Anwendungsfeld. Mit eine Energiedichte von 150Wh/kg ist er weit leistungsfähiger als Redox Flow Zellen Systeme ebenso ist durch die weite Verbreitung der Technologie und vor allem durch den Push der einsetzenden Elektromobilität inzwischen eine Preisniveau von kleiner 200€ pro kWh erreicht.

Die Energiedichte ist dennoch auch bei dieser Technologie noch weit weg von dem was wir von fossilen Brennstoffen kennen wenn wir uns z.B. Dieselkraftstoff mit 10.000 Wh/l anschauen. Wo im negativen Sinne Li Polymer Akkus weit „leistungsfähiger“ als fossile Brennstoffe sind, ist die Brandgefahr. Eine mechanische Beschädigung reicht um in den Li Polymer Zellen eine Wärmeentwicklung zu entfachen die zu einem unkontrollierbaren Brand führt. Das ist auch der Grund warum Li Polymer Akkus in der Luftfahrt verboten wurden.

Die Aigys PowerCell® löst die hier genannten Probleme!